India to add new Airport to e-visa list!

27-03-2017 15:45, by

More steps forward for India

India are making fast improvements to their e-visa system by adding a new air port to the list! Currently it is only possible to fly to India on an e-visa if you are flying to the following airports; Ahmedabad, Amritsar, Bengaluru, Chennai, Cochin, Delhi, Gaya, Goa, Hyderabad, Jaipur, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, Tiruchirapalli, Trivandrum and Varanasi. They hope to add Chandigrh to that list next month. 

It has been mentioned by the Airport officials in Chandigarh that without the e-visa system in place that have had to refuse travellers at the borders who are holding the e-visa. A flight from the US was was sent to Delhi due to the inability to process the e-visas. This can be frustrating for those traveling and not holding the correct documents but also for the airport workers. Implementing the e-visa system has to be done correctly and sometimes this can take time. There is no reason why the local immigration offices couldn’t have moved the process along to have it implemented quicker. 

With India making leaps and bounds to encourage travel and tourism to many of their cities it is looking like it will be on everyones bucket list, and even easier to travel to!